Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

About V-Dem

To better conceptualize and measure democracy, V-Dem distinguishes among 7 high-level Principles of Democracy:

1. Electoral
2. Liberal
3. Participatory
4. Majoritarian
5. Consensual
6. Deliberative and
7. Egalitarian

V-Dem disaggregates these seven principles into dozens of lower-level Components of Democracy such as regular elections, judicial independence, direct democracy, and gender equality, and provides disaggregated indicators for each conception and each component.

V-Dem covers all countries (and some dependent territories) from 1900 to the present, whenever possible and provides an estimate of measurement reliability for each rating.

All V-Dem data will made public, free of charge and in a user-friendly interface. These features, taken together, distinguish our project from extant democracy indices.

Benefits of V-Dem's systematic, historical, and disaggregated approach:

We will provide a full set of indices for each conception and component. Scholars and practitioners can construct their own indices to suit their own purposes.

This project will advance our understanding of the historical process of democratization.

It will also advance our understanding of the causes and effects of democracy.

This understanding will be more nuanced than present indicators allow.

This will assist governments, development agencies, and NGOs with country assessments, the design of effective programs, and evaluation of their impact.


Page Manager: Webbredaktionen|Last update: 10/15/2013

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?