Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

About European Studies

 The Centre for European Studies (CES) is a multi-disciplinary collaboration between nine different subjects spread across eight departments and three faculties at the University of Gothenburg.

In 1999, researchers from the University of Gothenburg, who were focusing on Europe, took the initiative of starting what was to become the European Studies Programme. The background to this was the recent Swedish membership in the EU which created a need for persons with deep knowledge of Europe and the EU. The purpose was to offer prospective students a multi-disciplinary programme which integrated historic, political, sociological and economic perspectives on European integration.

European integration affects economic, legal, political and social conditions, which means that European studies are interdisciplinary by nature. For this reason, the Centre for European Studies (CES), was created. Today CES organises interdisciplinary programmes at both Bachelor and Master level.

CES is situated at the Department of Political Science. If you want to learn more about the Faculties and Departments that make up the Centre for European Studies (CES), please visit CES’s website.

CES has a unique and long held competence in interdisciplinary European Studies. The teaching staffs are drawn from economics, the humanities, law, and the social sciences. In order to strengthen ties between the various disciplines the “Europakunskapskollegiet” was created in 2014. This group consists of one teacher from each of the disciplines, and is tasked with among other things keeping up an on-going discussion on the meaning and content of European Studies as a discipline. The group also makes up the core of the group of teachers who assess bachelor’s and master’s theses.

CES bring about high-class scholarly experts that crown their education by writing excellent theses, of which the most distinguished ones are given The Rutger Lindahl Award for the Best Master Thesis in European Studies, or the Henrik and Karolina von Mentzer thesis award in European Studies, which are delivered at the European Studies Annual Graduation Ceremony.

The centre also has its own ‘think-tank’ REGU – the Council for European Studies, who’s prominent members include among others Commissioner Cecilia Malmström, Christian Leffler, Jerker Stattin, and Mikaela Kumlin Granit. REGU strengthens CES’s ties to society and the employment sector, making sure that our programs remain relevant and attractive. It was REGU that initiated EMAES.

CES also cooperates closely with the Centre for European Research at Gothenburg University, CERGU, which is an awarded Centre of Excellence for European research. The teaching is therefore always connected to recent research within the field, and also supported by the International Advisory Board, IAB.

CES and CERGU together make up a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence, which is awarded to complete academic environments with excellence in both teaching and research in the field of European Studies.

Page Manager: Webbredaktionen|Last update: 11/13/2015

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?